The bells of Maria Trandafil
Thanks to Maria Trandafil, in 1872 three bells were cast for renewed Armenian church. Made in Wiener Neustadt, Austria's most famous bell foundry in the second half of the 19th century. On the largest bell (diameter 65 cm and weight of 250 kg), in bas-relief, figures of Maria Magdalene, St. Catherine and Mary were molded. Stylized floral friezes decorate the top and bottom of the bell.
State of origin of the cult. artefact:
In October 1963, in Novi Sad, St.George the Enlightener, popularly called the Armenian Church was demolished. For more than two centuries, this temple has witnessed the efforts of its believers and priests to build, maintain, restore and preserve. Unfortunately, in the decades after World War II, it shared the fate of the Armenians vanished from Novi Sad. Demolition of the Armenian Church is a non-volatile error in the post-war urban planning of Novi Sad. Part of the old center of the city, whose urban pattern was established in the early 18th century, has been sacrificed to the modern architecture and the new junction. In the clash of old and new, the church has been characterized as a "worthless piece of architecture," whose existence is not necessary. Generations of citizens of Novi Sad were also deprived of a part of heritage, unique in its cultural, religious and architectural significance. Of the life and last years of the existence of the Armenian Church and its small community extensive archival, documentary and photographic material, which reveals all the circumstances that led to the tragic and unnecessary demolition, remained preserved. Part of the precious legacy of the church is now kept in the Museum of the City of Novi Sad, and, after half a century, testifies to the former appearance of the Church of St.. George the Enlightener.